Maseno University

  • Increase font size
  • Default font size
  • Decrease font size

Department of Pharmacology

The Department of Pharmacology was established in 2013 as one of the key departments in Maseno University, School of Medicine. The main objective then was to meet the training needs for the Maseno University Bachelors of Medicine and Bachelors of Surgery (MBChB) program. This mandate has expanded and will continue to expand with the introduction of new programs within the school such as the Bachelor of Science in Nursing (BSc. Nursing). The dynamic field of pharmacotherapy requires in depth understanding of drug actions and therapeutic uses of these drugs. To this end the department endeavours to improve the knowledge on pharmacology through research, training and innovation.

The department currently undertakes three undergraduate courses for the MBChB program, and one course for the BSc. Nursing program. The department currently consists of two lecturers but foresee an improvement in future in terms of its human resource base to include professor, associate professors, senior lecturers and more lecturers.

Together with the pharmacists at the Jaramogi Oginga Odinga Teaching and Referral Hospital (JOOTRH), the department has an established research group with ongoing research projects.  We endeavour to partner with other organizations to broaden the research component in our training program.


Department Mission Statement

Delivering quality education and establish a leadership role in the development of knowledge through training, research and innovation in the field of Pharmacology.

Department Vision Statement

A leading department in research, training and innovation in the field of Pharmacology

Dr. Mary A. Onyango

Chair of Department

View my profile>>>


Address: P.O Box Private Bag Maseno


MPharm - Clin Pharm (UON) 2011

BPharm (UON) 2002

Dr. Molly E. Okoth

View my profile>>>


Address: P.O Box 2562 - 40100 Kisumu


MPharm - Clin Pharm (UON) 2013 

BPharm (UON) 2004



  • MBChB Courses offered:

    • Basic Pharmacology (MBS 206) - Second year MBChB students
    • Clinical Pharmacology I (MCS 300) - Third year MBChB students
    • Clinical Pharmacology II (MCS 400) - Fourth year MBChB students
  • BSc. Nursing Courses offered:

    • Basic and Clinical Pharmacology (MNS 200) - Second year Nursing students

Department of Pharmacology & Therapeutics

Email Print

Department of Pharmacology & Therapeutics